A.J. Epenesa among three Bills draft picks to sign rookie contract

Brandon Beane's work is almost done when it comes to signing his draft picks.

The Buffalo Bills' general manager reached agreement with three more rookies Friday, with the team announcing that Iowa defensive end A.J. Epenesa (second round), Central Florida wide receiver Gabriel Davis (fourth round) and Georgia quarterback Jake Fromm (fifth round) have signed their four-year rookie contracts. They join kicker Tyler Bass (sixth round), wide receiver Isaiah Hodgins (sixth round) and cornerback Dane Jackson (seventh round) in signing. That leaves just Utah running back Zack Moss, the team's third-round pick, without a deal.

The rookie wage scale in the NFL takes much of the guesswork out of contracts, at least from a monetary standpoint. Last year's No. 54 overall pick – Houston Texans cornerback Lonnie Johnson – signed a four-year contract worth a total value of a little more than $5.2 million.

According to Aaron Wilson of the Houston Chronicle, Epenesa's deal is worth $5.877 million total, with a $1.834 million signing bonus.

Bills have finalized deal for second-rounder A.J. Epenesa: $5.877 million total, $1.834 million signing bonus

— Aaron Wilson (@AaronWilson_NFL) May 8, 2020

Wilson reported that Fromm's contract is worth $3.771 million total with $899,490 guaranteed and a $302,960 signing bonus.

Bills' deal for fifth-rounder Jake Fromm: $3.771 million total, $899,490 guaranteed, $302,960 signing bonus

— Aaron Wilson (@AaronWilson_NFL) May 8, 2020

Contracts for draft picks are for four years. Teams have the option to pick up a fifth year on players drafted in the first round, but the Bills did not have a first-round pick this year, having traded it to the Minnesota Vikings as part of a package for wide receiver Stefon Diggs.

Story topics: 2020 NFL Draft / A.J. Epenesa / Brandon Beane / Dane Jackson / Gabriel Davis / Isaiah Hodgins / Jake Fromm / Tyler Bass / Zack Moss